YOG Blog

Thinking about Independence

What I mean by this is living the post-retirement life. I don't think that I'll ever actually retire. I'll just change what I'm doing everyday to projects that I feel passionate about. For me this means a daily discipline that won't look much different from now:

  1. Get up at 4:30AM
  2. Read until 5:30AM
  3. Hike 3-5 miles with a 22lb pack 5:30AM
  4. Make coffee 6:45AM
  5. Prep today today's work 7:00AM
  6. Write
  7. Work

The primary difference is that writing is currently confined to the weekends and mornings. Work occupies most of my weekdays. In retirement I'd like writing to fill the entire morning.

I have independence now because I enjoy my work. However, that schedule is dictated by clients and co-workers. I want to be the designer of my daily, weekly, monthly, and annual processes, systems, and goals.

I'm 63. By the time I reach 65 I could retire with adequate funds. I'd prefer to to work until 66, by then, I'll definitely have enough money to fund our lifestyle. Nothing in life is fully-predictable. There is a degree of chance in everything. That's what makes life interesting.