YOG Blog

My Longest Association

Besides my wife, whom I’ve known for 39 years, a particular technology conference has been the most extended association in my life for which I’ve been actively involved since 2007 (16 years).

Annual Conference

Las Vegas has been where the show has been for the last three years. It’s also been held in Seattle, San Diego, Austin, DC, and Orlando. The first conference had 200 attendees, with 50 company employees and the balance being actual customers. At the first one, I was a customer. I gave a speech on my experience with the tool, which led to my decision to start a consulting practice built around the software. I have also attended four European shows (two in London, Amsterdam, and Barcelona).

During the latest show (the first in four years without worrying about COVID), I re-kindled relationships with over 200 people I’ve met. These people are from every continent. There are customers, competitors, readers of my books, and friends. Some of my favorite people are competitors that I provided help in the early days because they wanted to get into the business. The conference this year attracted around 8,000 people. At its peak, over 20,000 (pre-COVID) attended.

I still love the community even though a more prominent business has acquired the company. They are bringing new culture that is clashing with the old culture.

Everything has a lifetime; people, products, and companies. Some live for a long time; others flash brilliantly, then die. I’m hopeful that the product and culture can survive new ownership. We shall see.